Master Classes

Master classes give exceptional teachers the opportunity to learn from a world-class expert and from each other.  

Our online master classes are held over two or three 75-minute sessions. In the first session(s), teachers learn from a master. In the last, participants have a rare and valuable opportunity to exchange ideas with other brilliant teachers. K-12 teachers who work in public, charter, and private schools are eligible for application or nomination. Those who are accepted become Fellows of The Academy for Teachers and join our growing community of brilliant educators.

We add additional master classes to the calendar when they are finalized.

This Year’s Upcoming Classes

Black and white photo of Dr. Max Liborion in front of a microscope
Anti-Colonial Science

with Dr. Max Liboiron

Online
Monday, January 11, 2021 • Tuesday, January 12, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Jewish, Christian & Muslim Relations in Medieval Europe

with Sara Lipton

Online
Thursday, January 14, 2021 • Thursday, January 21, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Rocks, Water & Life on Other Planets

with Lindy Elkins-Tanton

Online
Monday, January 25, 2021 • Monday, February 1, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

A.I. Explained

with Lawrence Carin

Online
Friday, January 29, 2021 • Friday, February 5, 2021 • Friday, February 12, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Claudius’s Soliloquy: What We Can Learn from Hamlet’s Villain

with Ramie Targoff

Online
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 • Wednesday, February 10, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Portrait of Steven Guarnaccia with fancy designs drawn on his face
Visual Narrative

with Steven Guarnaccia

Online
Wednesday, February 24, 2021 • Wednesday, March 3, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Professor Tanton writes on a whiteboard ising a green marker.
How Round is a Cube? A Sideways Interpretation of Euler’s Famous Polyhedron Formula

with James Tanton

Online
Thursday, February 25, 2021 • Thursday, March 4, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Was Gandhi Racist? And Other Unsettling Questions about African-Indian Entanglements

with Shobana Shankar

Online
Wednesday, March 10, 2021 • Wednesday, March 17, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations not yet open.

This Year’s Past Classes

The History of Policing in the United States

with Khalil Gibran Muhammad

Online
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 • Wednesday, August 19, 2020
12 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Jazz as Global Experiment

with Arturo O’Farrill

Online
Thursday, October 15, 2020 • Thursday, October 29, 2020Friday, November 6, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Othello: The Moor’s Story

with Stephen Greenblatt

Online
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 • Tuesday, November 10, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

LGBTQ+ Youth and Sexual Assault

with Shamus Khan

Online
Thursday, November 12, 2020 • Thursday, November 19, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Slavery & Native Americans

with Christian Crouch

Online
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 • Tuesday, November 24, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Photo of Manjul Bhargava in front of chalkboard
Mathematics & Patterns

with Manjul Bhargava

Online
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 • Tuesday, December 8, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Photography, the Image, and Social Protests

with Deborah Willis

Online
Monday, December 7, 2020 • Monday, December 14, 2020
5 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Virus Evolution

with Paul Turner

Online
Thursday, December 10, 2020 • Thursday, December 17, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Activist Art: Theory & Practice

with Betty Yu

Online
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 • Wednesday, January 13, 2021 • Wednesday, January 20, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Headshot of Richard Haass in front of a white building.
Nationalism, Regionalism, and Migration

with Richard Haass

Online
Tuesday, January 5, 2021 • Thursday, January 14, 2021 • Thursday, January 21, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Scroll to Top