Master Classes

Master classes give exceptional teachers the opportunity to learn from a world-class expert and from each other.  

Our online master classes are held over two or more 75-minute sessions. In the first session(s), teachers learn from a master. In the last, participants have a rare and valuable opportunity to exchange ideas with other brilliant teachers.

K-12 teachers who work in public, charter, and private schools are eligible for application or nomination. Scholarships will be granted to public and charter school teachers who are accepted this year.

This Year’s Upcoming Classes

Asian American Literature and the Problem of Happiness

with Denise Cruz

Online
Monday, April 19, 2021 • Monday, April 26, 2021 • Monday, May 3, 2021
4:30 p.m. – 5:45 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Palestine, Resistance & Poetry

with Robyn Creswell

Online
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 • Wednesday, May 12, 2021 • Wednesday, May 19, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Amanda Gorman’s Inaugural Poem: Rhetoric, Identity & Embodiment

with Brenda Jo Brueggemann

Online
Thursday, May 6, 2021 • Thursday, May 13, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Telling Stories Out of School

with Seth Barrish

Online
Monday, May 10, 2021 • Monday, May 24, 2021 • Wednesday, May 26, 2021 • Wednesday, June 2, 2021
5:15 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Islam and Christianity: Faith and Contradiction

with Imam Abdullah Antepli & Ellen F. Davis

Online
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 • Wednesday, May 26, 2021 • Wednesday, June 2, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Headshot of Hannah Holleman: She has short cropped brown hair, wears a green velvet blazer and is standing in front of a corner bookshelf.
No Empires, No Dust Bowls: Lessons from the First Global Environmental Crisis

with Hannah Holleman

Online
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 • Thursday, May 27, 2021 • Tuesday, June 1, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Richard Wright’s Never-Before-Published Novella: The Man Who Lived Underground

with Maurice Wallace

Online
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 • Monday, June 14, 2021 • Wednesday, June 16, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Headshot image of Maria Garlock--she has dirty blonde curly hair and wears a bright red dress.
The Art of Engineering: Vaulted Structures

with Maria Garlock

Online
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 • Wednesday, June 16, 2021 Wednesday, June 23, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

Sunil Gulati head shot, close up of Sunil's face on a gray background
Sports: A Master Class in Ethics & Values

with Sunil Gulati

Online
POSTPONED
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations now open.

This Year’s Past Classes

The History of Policing in the United States

with Khalil Gibran Muhammad

Online
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 • Wednesday, August 19, 2020
12 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Jazz as Global Experiment

with Arturo O’Farrill

Online
Thursday, October 15, 2020 • Thursday, October 29, 2020Friday, November 6, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Othello: The Moor’s Story

with Stephen Greenblatt

Online
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 • Tuesday, November 10, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

LGBTQ+ Youth and Sexual Assault

with Shamus Khan

Online
Thursday, November 12, 2020 • Thursday, November 19, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Slavery & Native Americans

with Christian Crouch

Online
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 • Tuesday, November 24, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Photo of Manjul Bhargava in front of chalkboard
Mathematics & Patterns

with Manjul Bhargava

Online
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 • Tuesday, December 8, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Photography, the Image, and Social Protests

with Deborah Willis

Online
Monday, December 7, 2020 • Monday, December 14, 2020
5 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Virus Evolution

with Paul Turner

Online
Thursday, December 10, 2020 • Thursday, December 17, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Activist Art: Theory & Practice

with Betty Yu

Online
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 • Wednesday, January 13, 2021 • Wednesday, January 20, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Headshot of Richard Haass in front of a white building.
Nationalism, Regionalism, and Migration

with Richard Haass

Online
Tuesday, January 5, 2021 • Thursday, January 14, 2021 • Thursday, January 21, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Black and white photo of Dr. Max Liborion in front of a microscope
Anti-Colonial Science

with Dr. Max Liboiron

Online
Monday, January 11, 2021 • Tuesday, January 12, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Jewish, Christian & Muslim Relations in Medieval Europe

with Sara Lipton

Online
Thursday, January 14, 2021 • Thursday, January 21, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Rocks, Water & Life on Other Planets

with Lindy Elkins-Tanton

Online
Monday, January 25, 2021 • Monday, February 1, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

A.I. Explained

with Lawrence Carin

Online
Friday, February 5, 2021 • Friday, February 12, 2021 • Friday, February 19, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Claudius’s Soliloquy: What We Can Learn from Hamlet’s Villain

with Ramie Targoff

Online
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 • Wednesday, February 10, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Professor Tanton writes on a whiteboard ising a green marker.
How Round is a Cube? A Sideways Interpretation of Euler’s Famous Polyhedron Formula

with James Tanton

Online
Thursday, February 25, 2021 • Thursday, March 4, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Acting: The Art of Empathy

with Brian McEleney

Online
Monday, March 8, 2021 • Monday, March 15, 2021 Monday, March 22, 2021 • Tuesday, March 23, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Was Gandhi Racist? And Other Unsettling Questions about African-Indian Entanglements

with Shobana Shankar

Online
Wednesday, March 10, 2021 • Wednesday, March 17, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Civil Rights & the Preamble

with Yohuru Williams

Online
Friday, March 19, 2021 • Friday, March 26, 2021 • Friday, April 2, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

David Kaiser headshot--He is in the middle of speaking, wearing a brown sports coat over a pale purple shirt the top button unbuttoned. Behind him is a light wood bookshelf full of colorful books.
The Wonderful Weirdness of Quantum Theory: Testing Some Bizarre Features of our Most Precise Scientific Theory

with David Kaiser

Online
Thursday, March 25, 2021 • Thursday, April 1, 2021 • Wednesday, April 7, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Escribirlo: A Writing Workshop in Spanish

with Álvaro Enrigue

Online
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 • Wednesday, March 31, 2021 • Wednesday, April 7, 2021• Wednesday, April 14, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

The Stories in Things

with Rivka Galchen

Online
Tuesday, March 30, 2021 • Tuesday, April 13, 2021 • Thursday, April 15, 2021• Tuesday, April 20, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Reading the U.S. Constitution

with Jill Lepore

Online
Thursday, April 8, 2021 • Friday, April 9, 2021 • Thursday, April 15, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Sydney Skybetter potrait, wearing a white shirt, black and clear rimmed square glasses. The background is a light gray.
Dance & High Tech: History and Practice

with Sydney Skybetter

Online
Friday, April 9, 2021 • Friday, April 16, 2021 • Friday, April 23, 2021
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Applications & nominations are closed.

Scroll to Top