Mini Master Classes

This new series was created in response to the 2020 pandemic. Teachers are adapting to new technology, platforms, protocols, and systems. They’re trying to reach students they can no longer see. They’re lonely in their homes. They miss their students and colleagues.

These hour-long classes bring some intellectual joy to teachers’ lives. They are also an opportunity for teachers to connect with each other and share what’s working as well as ease some of their stress and isolation.

Citizen Science in the Age of COVID

with Mary Ellen Hannibal
Online
Tuesday, April 8, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

A Brief History of New York City Garbage and Disease

with Robin Nagle
Online
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Frederick Douglass’s Dream for a Multiracial America

with David Blight
Online
Thursday, April 16, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Metaphor Workshop with Taylor Mali

with Taylor Mali
Online
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

“Investiture at Cecconi’s,” a poem by James Merrill

with Jeff Nunokawa
Online
Thursday, April 23, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Microbes

with Allen M. Spiegel
Online
Thursday, April 27, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Telling Better Stories

with Andy Goodman
Online
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Gloria Steinem & U.S. History

with Amy Richards
Online
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is full.

Fleabag: The Inside Story

with Amy Hungerford
Online
Thursday, May 7, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.

Registration is full.

The Edge of the Universe

with Charles Bailyn
Online
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

Imagination & Childhood

with Nancy Tarshis
Online
Thursday, May 14, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

1965: The Year Music Changed

with Phil Galdston
Online
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

Celebrating the Periodic Table

with Christian Rojas
Online
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

How Poems End

with Billy Collins
Online
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

Designing Identities

with Paula Scher
Online
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now closed.

Fiction in the Time of COVID:
A Two-Session Creative Writing Workshop

with Karen Russell
Online
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. 5:30 p.m. – 6:45 p.m.
Registration is now open.

Philosophy & Art

with Thomas E. Wartenberg
Online
Thursday, June 4, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Registration is now open.

Scroll to Top