Special Events

Because our Fellows want to be part of a community of exceptional teachers and kindred spirits, The Academy organizes events that are high-, middle-, and lowbrow. All are free to Fellows.
Telling Stories Out of School

Online
Thursday, July 9, 2020
6 p.m. – 7 p.m.

Uncut Gems
Screening followed by Q&A

with Benny Safdie, co-director

with Benny Safdie
Online
Thursday, July 16, 2020
6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Mindfulness for Educators

with April Frazier
Online
Thursday, July 23, 2020
11 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Soundtrack of Black Lives Matter:
Activist Music in the Classroom

with Maria De Valle, Nicholas Ryan Gant,
Janelle Lawrence, Alice Tsui & Martin Urbach
Online
Thursday, August 6, 2020
10 a.m. – 11:15
a.m.

Improv for Teachers of Any Subject

with Elana Fishbein
Online
Thursday, August 13, 2020
11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

What’s Working: Chemistry

Online
Wednesday, October 7, 2020 • Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 • Wednesday, January 6, 2021
6 p.m. – 7:15 p.m.

Black Joy & Black Excellence:
Transformative Black Communities

with Rosalie Uyola
Online
Monday, October 12, 2020
3 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.

A dirty paintbrush and palette knife on top of an abstract painting, next to a palette with wells of paint.
What’s Working: Studio Art

Online
Monday, October 19, 2020 • Monday, November 2, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020 • Tuesday, January 5, 2021
5 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.

Jane Goodall by Vincent Calmell
Jane Goodall in Conversation
with Teachers

with Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute & U.N. Messenger of Peace
Online
Saturday, October 24, 2020
11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

What’s Working: U.S. History

Online
Monday, November 23, 2020
4:30 p.m. – 5:45 p.m.

Creating Classroom Culture

Online
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
6 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Native Maps & Colonial Maps: Whose World Is It?

with Aisling Roche, Academy of Urban Planning
Online
Thursday, December 3, 2020
5 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.

An open book with words on the left-hand page sits between the roots of a tree with red and orange leaves on the ground around it.
Pandemic Poetry & Prose

with Academy Fellows
Online
Friday, December 4, 2020
5 p.m. – 6 p.m.

Building Connections through Improv

with Elana Fishbein
Online
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
4 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Puppet by Lexy Ho-Tai made of various fabrics (turquoise, pink, magenta, yellow) sticking its tongue out, a fuschia cloth background is behind it.
Meet the Artist, Make Some Art

with Lexy Ho-Tai
Online
Offered in partnership with the Museum of Arts & Design
Thursday, January 28, 2021
5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

What’s Working: Smart Assessments

with Academy Fellows
Online
Monday, February 8, 2021
4:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Scroll to Top